How Many Countries are There in the World

As of 2024, there are 195 countries in the world according to the United Nations (UN) member states. However, the concept of a “country” is not always straightforward, and there are several factors to consider when determining the number of countries globally.

  1. United Nations Member States: The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 to promote peace, security, and cooperation among nations. As of January 2022, there are 193 member states in the United Nations. These member states are sovereign countries that have been formally recognized by the international community and have been admitted to the UN General Assembly.
  2. Observer States and Non-Member States: In addition to the 193 UN member states, there are two observer states with non-member status in the UN: the Holy See (Vatican City) and the State of Palestine. While these entities have limited participation in UN activities, they are recognized as distinct political entities by the international community.
  3. De Facto and De Jure States: The distinction between de facto and de jure states is crucial when considering the number of countries in the world. De jure states are those that have legal recognition as independent sovereign entities under international law. De facto states, on the other hand, may control territory and have a functioning government but lack widespread international recognition. Examples of de facto states include Somaliland, Transnistria, and Northern Cyprus.
  4. Recognition by Other States: The recognition of a country by other states plays a significant role in determining its status as a sovereign entity. While some countries are universally recognized by the international community, others may face challenges in gaining recognition due to political disputes, territorial conflicts, or other factors. The recognition of a state by other countries can vary, leading to differing perspectives on its legitimacy as an independent nation.
  5. Colonial Territories and Dependencies: Some territories are classified as colonies, overseas territories, or dependencies of other countries rather than independent sovereign states. These territories may have varying degrees of autonomy and self-governance but are ultimately subject to the authority of another state. Examples include Puerto Rico (a territory of the United States) and French Guiana (an overseas department of France).
  6. Micronations and Unrecognized Entities: Micronations are self-proclaimed entities that claim sovereignty over a specific territory, often without widespread recognition from the international community. While some micronations exist as social experiments or creative projects, others assert genuine claims to independence. However, most micronations lack recognition from established states and international organizations.
  7. Changes in International Borders and Political Entities: The number of countries in the world is not static and can change over time due to factors such as territorial disputes, secessionist movements, and geopolitical developments. New countries may emerge through processes such as decolonization, independence movements, or diplomatic recognition by other states. Conversely, countries may merge, dissolve, or undergo changes in political status.

List of Countries in Alphabetical Order


Countries in Asia: 49

Asia, the largest continent on Earth, comprises 49 countries, ranging from the vast expanse of Russia in the north to the tiny island nation of Maldives in the Indian Ocean. Russia, with its expansive territory spanning both Europe and Asia, holds the title of the largest country in the world, covering approximately 17 million square kilometers. On the other end of the spectrum, the Maldives, an archipelago nation consisting of over 1,000 coral islands, is one of the smallest countries not only in Asia but also globally. Despite their size disparity, both nations contribute to the rich diversity and complexity of the Asian continent.

Countries in Africa: 54

Africa, the second-largest continent, comprises 54 recognized countries, representing a mosaic of cultures, languages, and landscapes. Nigeria, located in West Africa, holds the title of the most populous country on the continent and the seventh most populous globally, covering an area of approximately 923,768 square kilometers. In contrast, Seychelles, an archipelago nation in the Indian Ocean off the eastern coast of Africa, is the smallest African country, both in terms of land area and population. Despite their differences in size, each African nation contributes uniquely to the continent’s rich tapestry of history, culture, and natural diversity.

Countries in Europe: 44

Europe, the second-smallest continent, is home to 44 recognized countries, each contributing to its rich cultural tapestry and historical legacy. Russia, situated at the crossroads of Europe and Asia, holds the distinction of being the largest country not only in Europe but also in the world, spanning over 17 million square kilometers. On the other end of the spectrum, Vatican City, an independent city-state located within Rome, Italy, is the smallest sovereign state in both Europe and the world, covering just 0.49 square kilometers. Despite their size disparity, each European country plays a significant role in shaping the continent’s diverse identity.

Countries in Oceania: 14

Oceania, a region encompassing thousands of islands across the Pacific Ocean, comprises 14 countries, each with its own unique culture, geography, and history. Australia, the largest country in Oceania and the sixth-largest in the world by total area, dominates the continent with its vast expanses of land and diverse ecosystems. Conversely, Nauru, a tiny island nation located northeast of Australia, holds the title of the smallest country in Oceania, both in terms of land area and population. Despite their differences in size, each Oceania country contributes to the region’s rich cultural heritage and environmental diversity, shaping its collective identity.

Countries in North America: 23

North America, the third-largest continent, comprises 23 countries and territories, each contributing to its diverse cultural landscape and economic vitality. Canada, the largest country in North America and the second-largest in the world by land area, encompasses vast wilderness, vibrant cities, and a multicultural society. In contrast, Saint Kitts and Nevis, a small island nation located in the Caribbean Sea, holds the title of the smallest sovereign state in North America, both in terms of land area and population. Despite their differences in size, each North American country plays a significant role in the continent’s dynamic identity and global influence.

Countries in South America: 12

South America, the fourth-largest continent, comprises 12 countries, each with its own distinct culture, geography, and history. Brazil, the largest country in both South America and Latin America, spans over 8.5 million square kilometers and boasts diverse landscapes ranging from the Amazon rainforest to the bustling cities of Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro. Suriname, located on the northeastern coast of South America, is the smallest independent country on the continent, covering approximately 163,820 square kilometers. Despite their differences in size, each South American nation contributes to the continent’s vibrant cultural mosaic and natural beauty, shaping its identity.

Featured Articles