Countries Starting with E

How many countries starting with letter E? There are 8 countries in the world that start with the letter “E.” Below is a detailed description of each:

1. Ecuador

Ecuador, named after the equator that runs through the country, offers a diverse landscape that includes the Amazon jungle, Andean highlands, and the wildlife-rich Galápagos Islands. It has a rich pre-Colombian history, with the Inca Empire being its most famous historical phase before Spanish colonization. Today, Ecuador is known for its rich ecology, hosting thousands of species in its small area, making it one of the most biodiverse countries in the world. The economy is heavily dependent on commodities like petroleum and agricultural products, but tourism is growing due to the country’s ecological treasures. Ecuador’s political scene has been historically marked by instability, but it has achieved more steady governance in recent years.

  • Continent: South America
  • Capital: Quito
  • Largest City: Guayaquil
  • Population: Approximately 17.4 million
  • Area: 283,561 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Spanish
  • Currency: United States dollar (USD)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

2. Egypt

Egypt is one of the world’s oldest civilizations, with a rich history that dates back to the pharaonic era, over 5000 years ago. The country is known for its ruins, such as the Pyramids of Giza and the Great Sphinx, as well as its other archaeological treasures in Luxor and the Valley of the Kings. Modern Egypt is strategically important due to its control of the Suez Canal, a vital waterway for global trade. Despite its historical affluence, Egypt today struggles with issues of political instability, economic challenges, and social unrest. However, its cultural heritage continues to be a significant draw for tourists from around the world.

  • Continent: Africa
  • Capital: Cairo
  • Largest City: Cairo
  • Population: Approximately 102 million
  • Area: 1,010,408 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Arabic
  • Currency: Egyptian pound (EGP)
  • Political System: Semi-presidential republic

3. El Salvador

El Salvador, the smallest and most densely populated country in Central America, is known for its Pacific Ocean beaches, surf spots, and mountainous landscape. The country has a turbulent history, including a brutal civil war in the 1980s, which has had a lasting impact on its society and politics. Today, El Salvador faces challenges such as economic inequality, violence, and political instability. It has, however, made significant progress in terms of development, driven by remittances from Salvadorans living abroad, particularly in the United States. Coffee and sugar production remain critical components of its economy.

  • Continent: North America
  • Capital: San Salvador
  • Largest City: San Salvador
  • Population: Approximately 6.5 million
  • Area: 21,041 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Spanish
  • Currency: United States dollar (USD)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

4. Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is one of the smallest countries in Africa, consisting of a mainland region and several islands. It is one of the continent’s largest producers of oil, which has significantly boosted its economy since the mid-1990s. Despite its oil wealth, the majority of the population remains poor due to high levels of corruption. This wealth has not trickled down to improve the general living standards of its people, resulting in significant inequality. The country is known for its authoritarian government, which has been in power since a coup in 1979.

  • Continent: Africa
  • Capital: Malabo
  • Largest City: Bata
  • Population: Approximately 1.4 million
  • Area: 28,050 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Spanish, French, Portuguese
  • Currency: Central African CFA franc (XAF)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

5. Eritrea

Eritrea is located in the Horn of Africa, bordered by Sudan, Ethiopia, and Djibouti. It gained independence from Ethiopia in 1993 after a prolonged struggle. The country is governed by an authoritarian regime that has been criticized internationally for its human rights record. Eritrea’s economy is largely based on subsistence agriculture, with some mining activity. The government maintains strict control over the economy and national service is mandatory for all young people, which has led to a high rate of emigration.

  • Continent: Africa
  • Capital: Asmara
  • Largest City: Asmara
  • Population: Approximately 3.5 million
  • Area: 117,600 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Tigrinya, Arabic, English
  • Currency: Eritrean nakfa (ERN)
  • Political System: One-party presidential republic

6. Estonia

Estonia, the northernmost of the Baltic states, boasts a modern digital society with widespread access to the internet and e-government services. Its history is marked by periods of rule by foreign powers like Sweden, Russia, and Germany. Since regaining independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, Estonia has developed a robust economy, heavily focused on technology. It is recognized for its innovations in technology, particularly in software and e-services, making it one of the most digitally advanced countries in the world. Estonia also has a rich cultural landscape that blends Nordic and Eastern European influences.

  • Continent: Europe
  • Capital: Tallinn
  • Largest City: Tallinn
  • Population: Approximately 1.3 million
  • Area: 45,339 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Estonian
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • Political System: Parliamentary republic

7. Eswatini (formerly Swaziland)

Eswatini, known until 2018 as Swaziland, is a small, landlocked monarchy in Southern Africa. It is one of the last absolute monarchies in the world. The country’s economy is heavily dependent on agriculture and manufacturing, with sugar and wood pulp being major products. Despite its small size, Eswatini has a well-defined cultural identity rooted in the traditions of the Swazi people. The king holds substantial power over the nation’s affairs, both political and economic, which has been a point of contention in terms of governance and human rights.

  • Continent: Africa
  • Capital: Mbabane (administrative), Lobamba (legislative)
  • Largest City: Manzini
  • Population: Approximately 1.1 million
  • Area: 17,364 square kilometers
  • Official Language: English, Swati
  • Currency: Swazi lilangeni (SZL), South African rand (ZAR) also accepted
  • Political System: Absolute monarchy

8. Ethiopia

Ethiopia, often described as the cradle of civilization, has a storied history that includes being the only African nation to resist colonization during the Scramble for Africa. It has archaeological finds dating back over 3 million years, and its ancient Ge’ez script is one of the oldest alphabets still in use. The country’s landscape is incredibly diverse, ranging from vast deserts to lush highlands. Ethiopia is the second-most populous country in Africa and has one of the fastest-growing economies on the continent. However, it faces challenges such as political tension, ethnic divisions, and periodic droughts. The government has been engaged in efforts to liberalize the economy and improve its human rights record.

  • Continent: Africa
  • Capital: Addis Ababa
  • Largest City: Addis Ababa
  • Population: Approximately 114 million
  • Area: 1,104,300 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Amharic
  • Currency: Ethiopian birr (ETB)
  • Political System: Federal parliamentary republic