Countries Starting with F

How many countries starting with letter F? There are 6 countries that start with the letter “F.” Here’s a detailed overview of each:

1. Fiji

Fiji is an archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean, renowned for its rugged landscapes, palm-lined beaches, and coral reefs with clear lagoons. Its major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, contain most of the population. A former British colony, Fiji has a complex community made up of indigenous Fijian, Indo-Fijian, and other Pacific Islander groups, contributing to a rich cultural mix. The economy is based on tourism and sugar exports. Fiji has experienced several political disturbances since independence in 1970, but it has been working towards a more stable governance structure. The country’s picturesque islands make it a popular destination for tourists seeking natural beauty and adventure.

  • Continent: Oceania
  • Capital: Suva
  • Largest City: Suva
  • Population: Approximately 896,000
  • Area: 18,274 square kilometers
  • Official Language: English, Fijian, Fiji Hindi
  • Currency: Fijian dollar (FJD)
  • Political System: Parliamentary republic

2. Finland

Finland, located in Northern Europe, is known for its vast forests and lakes, making it a natural wonderland. The country has a high standard of living and excels in various metrics of national performance, including education, economic competitiveness, civil liberties, and human development. Finland’s political system is a parliamentary republic, with a strong emphasis on welfare and healthcare. It has a mixed economy that is highly industrialized; it includes the manufacturing of electronics, machinery, vehicles, and other engineered metal products. The capital, Helsinki, is the largest city and cultural hub, known for its design and high technology sectors.

  • Continent: Europe
  • Capital: Helsinki
  • Largest City: Helsinki
  • Population: Approximately 5.5 million
  • Area: 338,455 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Finnish, Swedish
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • Political System: Parliamentary republic

3. France

France is one of the world’s oldest nations and a leading player in global affairs. Known for its influential culture, history, and economy, France is considered a center of art, science, and philosophy. It hosts the world’s fourth-largest number of UNESCO World Heritage Sites and is the world’s most visited tourist destination, thanks to landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre Museum, and its renowned cuisine and wine. The French Republic is a founding member of the European Union and a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. It has a diverse economy that includes technology, manufacturing, transport, and agriculture. France maintains one of the largest military forces in the world and has significant influence in global political, economic, and cultural affairs.

  • Continent: Europe
  • Capital: Paris
  • Largest City: Paris
  • Population: Approximately 67 million
  • Area: 551,695 square kilometers
  • Official Language: French
  • Currency: Euro (EUR), CFP franc (XPF) in overseas territories
  • Political System: Semi-presidential republic

4. French Guiana

French Guiana, located on the northeastern coast of South America, is a French overseas department. Predominantly covered by the Amazon rainforest, it features diverse wildlife and vast biological diversity. The region is best known for the Guiana Space Centre, which is the European Space Agency’s primary launch site near the equator. The economy is heavily dependent on France for subsidies and imports, while exports include shrimp, gold, and timber. The population is a mix of Creole, indigenous, and descendants of European settlers. French Guiana remains part of France and thus is part of the European Union, the only territory of the continent located in South America.

  • Continent: South America
  • Capital: Cayenne
  • Largest City: Cayenne
  • Population: Approximately 290,000
  • Area: 83,534 square kilometers
  • Official Language: French
  • Currency: Euro (EUR)
  • Political System: Overseas department/region of France

5. French Polynesia

French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France, is composed of over 100 islands in the South Pacific, stretching over more than 2,000 kilometers. Famous for its coral-fringed lagoons and over-water bungalow hotels, tourism plays a significant role in the local economy. The island of Tahiti, which houses the capital city, Papeete, is the largest and most populous of these islands. The archipelago is known for its vivid marine life, cultural richness, and history of nuclear testing which ended in 1996. Although politically part of France, French Polynesia enjoys a large degree of autonomy on local matters.

  • Continent: Oceania
  • Capital: Papeete
  • Largest City: Papeete
  • Population: Approximately 280,000
  • Area: 4,167 square kilometers
  • Official Language: French
  • Currency: CFP franc (XPF)
  • Political System: Overseas collectivity of France

6. Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands, a self-governing archipelago part of the Kingdom of Denmark, are located in the North Atlantic Ocean. Known for their rugged cliffs, seaside villages, and birdlife, the islands have a mixed economy that includes fishing, tourism, and recently, oil exploration. The population predominantly speaks Faroese, and there is a strong sense of community and tradition among the islanders. While the Faroe Islands are part of the Kingdom of Denmark, they are not part of the European Union and have substantial autonomy in local affairs. Their scenic landscapes and unique culture make them an attractive destination for tourists looking for remote and dramatic natural settings.

  • Continent: Europe
  • Capital: Tórshavn
  • Largest City: Tórshavn
  • Population: Approximately 52,000
  • Area: 1,399 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Faroese, Danish
  • Currency: Danish krone (DKK)
  • Political System: Devolved government within the Kingdom of Denmark