Countries Starting with H

How many countries starting with letter H? There are 4 countries that begin with the letter “H.” Here is a comprehensive description of each:

1. Haiti

Haiti, located on the island of Hispaniola in the Caribbean Sea which it shares with the Dominican Republic, is deeply rooted in a history of struggle, from its foundation through a slave revolt to its current political and economic challenges. It was the first post-colonial independent black-led nation in the world, and the first in the Americas to abolish slavery entirely. Unfortunately, Haiti’s development has been hampered by political instability, natural disasters, and underdevelopment. Its culture is a vibrant mix of African, French, and Caribbean influences, evident in its music, art, and culinary traditions. Despite the significant challenges it faces, Haiti remains culturally rich and resilient, with community and family at the heart of its society.

  • Continent: North America
  • Capital: Port-au-Prince
  • Largest City: Port-au-Prince
  • Population: Approximately 11.4 million
  • Area: 27,750 square kilometers
  • Official Language: French, Haitian Creole
  • Currency: Haitian gourde (HTG)
  • Political System: Semi-presidential republic

2. Honduras

Honduras is located in Central America, bordered by Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Fonseca, and the Gulf of Honduras of the Caribbean Sea. Known for its rich natural resources, including minerals, coffee, tropical fruit, and sugar cane, Honduras is also famed for its lush rainforests, imposing mountains, and verdant valleys hosting a vast diversity of flora and fauna. The nation has struggled with high levels of poverty, crime, and political instability. In recent decades, it has made some strides in improving its political stability and economic conditions. Honduras’s culture is a vibrant mix influenced by indigenous peoples, Spanish colonization, and Afro-Caribbean customs.

  • Continent: North America
  • Capital: Tegucigalpa
  • Largest City: Tegucigalpa
  • Population: Approximately 9.9 million
  • Area: 112,492 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Spanish
  • Currency: Honduran lempira (HNL)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

3. Hungary

Hungary, located in Central Europe, is known for its rich history dating back to the Roman times. The nation played a significant role in various historical eras including as part of the Ottoman Empire and later the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Post-World War I, Hungary experienced various upheavals, dramatically affecting its borders and population. Today, Hungary is known for its beautiful capital Budapest, classical music scene, and contributions to the arts and sciences. Its economy is moderately sized and relies heavily on foreign trade, particularly in the manufacturing sector. Despite political controversies around its governance, Hungary remains a significant player in European and global affairs.

  • Continent: Europe
  • Capital: Budapest
  • Largest City: Budapest
  • Population: Approximately 9.6 million
  • Area: 93,028 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Hungarian
  • Currency: Hungarian forint (HUF)
  • Political System: Parliamentary republic

4. Hong Kong

Hong Kong, a Special Administrative Region (SAR) of the People’s Republic of China since its handover from Britain in 1997, is located on the southern coast of China. It is one of the world’s most significant financial centers and commercial ports. Known for its skyline and deep natural harbor, Hong Kong blends Eastern and Western influences, evident in its food, culture, and bustling city life. Despite its small size, it has a large and vibrant economy, significant cultural exports, and a very high level of development. Recent years have seen political tensions related to governance and the extent of autonomy from China, which have led to widespread protests and international attention.

  • Continent: Asia
  • Capital: Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region, no capital)
  • Largest City: Victoria (commonly referred to as Hong Kong)
  • Population: Approximately 7.5 million
  • Area: 1,104 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Chinese (Cantonese), English
  • Currency: Hong Kong dollar (HKD)
  • Political System: Special Administrative Region of China