Countries Starting with K

How many countries starting with letter K? There are 6 countries that start with the letter “K.” Here is a detailed description of each:

1. Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan, located in Central Asia, is the largest landlocked country in the world and the ninth largest overall. Rich in natural resources, Kazakhstan has significant reserves of oil, natural gas, coal, and various important minerals. Since gaining independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, it has transitioned from a state-controlled economy to a more market-oriented focus, which has spurred economic growth. The country is known for its diverse ethnic composition, with Kazakhs making up the majority of the population, alongside significant Russian, Uzbek, and Ukrainian minorities. Kazakhstan has made strides in developing its space technology sector, hosting the Baikonur Cosmodrome, the world’s first and largest operational space launch facility.

  • Continent: Asia
  • Capital: Nur-Sultan
  • Largest City: Almaty
  • Population: Approximately 18.8 million
  • Area: 2,724,900 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Kazakh
  • Currency: Kazakhstani tenge (KZT)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

2. Kenya

Kenya is located in East Africa, known for its diverse landscapes and vast wildlife preserves. Its diverse geography ranges from the snow-capped peak of Mt. Kenya to rich savannahs where the big five game animals roam. Kenya’s economy is the largest in eastern and central Africa, with Nairobi serving as a major regional commercial hub. Agriculture is central to the economy, with tea and coffee being traditional cash crops, while fresh flowers are a fast-growing export. The country faces challenges including poverty, corruption, and terrorism, but it remains a powerful economic, cultural, and political force in Africa. It is also celebrated for its athletes, particularly long-distance runners.

  • Continent: Africa
  • Capital: Nairobi
  • Largest City: Nairobi
  • Population: Approximately 53 million
  • Area: 580,367 square kilometers
  • Official Language: English, Swahili
  • Currency: Kenyan shilling (KES)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

3. Kiribati

Kiribati, a sovereign state in Micronesia in the central Pacific Ocean, comprises 33 atolls and reef islands and one raised coral island, dispersed over 3.5 million square kilometers. These islands have a total land area of about 811 square kilometers and are known for their marine environments. Kiribati is facing severe existential threats from climate change, including sea-level rise threatening its very existence. The economy is constrained by its remote location, lack of adequate infrastructure, and limited natural resources, with copra and fish being the main revenue sources.

  • Continent: Oceania
  • Capital: South Tarawa
  • Largest City: South Tarawa
  • Population: Approximately 119,000
  • Area: 811 square kilometers
  • Official Language: English, Gilbertese
  • Currency: Australian dollar (AUD)
  • Political System: Presidential republic

4. Kuwait

Kuwait is a small country on the Persian Gulf, bordered by Saudi Arabia and Iraq. It has the world’s sixth-largest known oil reserves, which has made it one of the richest countries per capita. Kuwait City, the capital, is known for its modern architecture, ranging from skyscrapers to the striking Kuwait Towers. The nation was severely affected by the Gulf War in 1990, which saw significant environmental and economic damage. Kuwait’s government is a constitutional emirate with a high degree of political stability, although it has faced challenges including bureaucracy and allegations of corruption.

  • Continent: Asia
  • Capital: Kuwait City
  • Largest City: Kuwait City
  • Population: Approximately 4.2 million
  • Area: 17,818 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Arabic
  • Currency: Kuwaiti dinar (KWD)
  • Political System: Constitutional monarchy

5. Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan, a landlocked country in Central Asia, is known for its natural beauty and varied traditions. It is bordered by Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and China. Since gaining independence from the Soviet Union in 1991, Kyrgyzstan has endured significant political and ethnic conflicts. Despite these challenges, it has maintained a parliamentary system, which is unique in Central Asia. The economy relies heavily on agriculture and the extraction of minerals such as gold and rare earth metals. Kyrgyzstan’s mountainous terrain is a major draw for adventurers and eco-tourists.

  • Continent: Asia
  • Capital: Bishkek
  • Largest City: Bishkek
  • Population: Approximately 6.5 million
  • Area: 199,951 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Kyrgyz, Russian
  • Currency: Kyrgyzstani som (KGS)
  • Political System: Parliamentary republic

6. Kosovo (English: Kosovo)

Kosovo is a landlocked country located in the Balkans, in southeastern Europe. Pristina is the capital and largest city. Kosovo declared independence from Serbia in 2008, although its sovereignty is not universally recognized. The country is known for its rich cultural heritage, including Ottoman-era architecture, Byzantine churches, and ancient ruins. Kosovo’s economy is still developing, with key sectors including agriculture, mining, and services.

  • Continent: Asia
  • Capital: Kuwait City
  • Largest City: Kuwait City
  • Population: Around 4.3 million
  • Area: 17,818 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Arabic
  • Currency: Kuwaiti Dinar
  • Political System: Constitutional Monarchy