Countries Starting with Q

How many countries starting with letter Q? There are 1 countries that start with the letter “Q.” Here is a detailed description of each:

1. Qatar (English: Qatar)

Qatar is a sovereign country located in Western Asia, occupying the small Qatar Peninsula on the northeastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula. Doha is the capital and largest city. Qatar is known for its modern skyline, luxury shopping malls, and vibrant cultural scene. The country’s economy is heavily reliant on oil and natural gas exports, which have propelled it to become one of the wealthiest nations in the world per capita.

Qatar has made significant investments in infrastructure, education, and healthcare, aiming to diversify its economy and reduce its dependence on hydrocarbons. The country is also known for its ambitious development projects, including the construction of iconic landmarks such as the futuristic skyscraper, The Torch Doha, and the artificial island resort, The Pearl-Qatar.

In addition to its economic prosperity, Qatar is recognized for its diplomatic initiatives and role in regional affairs. The country has hosted numerous international events, including the Asian Games in 2006 and the FIFA World Cup in 2022, which showcased its state-of-the-art facilities and hospitality.

Qatar’s society is characterized by its multiculturalism, with expatriates comprising a significant portion of the population. The country promotes cultural exchange and dialogue through institutions such as the Museum of Islamic Art and the Katara Cultural Village, which host exhibitions, performances, and festivals celebrating diverse traditions and heritage.

Despite its rapid development and modernization, Qatar faces challenges related to labor rights, human rights, and environmental sustainability. The country has implemented reforms to address these issues, including labor law reforms and initiatives to promote renewable energy and environmental conservation.

  • Continent: Asia
  • Capital: Doha
  • Largest City: Doha
  • Population: Approximately 2.8 million
  • Area: 11,586 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Arabic
  • Currency: Qatari Riyal
  • Political System: Absolute Monarchy